Nobel Prize in Physics for Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann Giorgio Parisi, the theorists of complex systems

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has just announced the award of the Nobel Prize in Physics to three scientists for “their fundamental contributions to our understanding of complex physical systems.” Among these contributions are the development of mathematical models to understand climate change.

The three winners, one Japanese, one German and a third Italian share the Nobel for their studies of large chaotic and apparently random phenomena . Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann laid the foundations for understanding the complex interaction between climate and humans. For his part, Giorgio Parisi has been recognized for his contributions to the theory of disordered materials and random processes.

Last year, the British Roger Penrose, the German Reinhard Genzel and the American Andrea Ghez won the Nobel Prize in Physics. The first received half the award “for discovering that the formation of black holes is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity.” The other two shared the other half “for discovering a supermassive compact object in the center of our galaxy.”

The prize is endowed with nine million Swedish crowns, some 940. 000 euros. This award follows the announcement made yesterday of the Nobel Prize in Medicine and will continue tomorrow with the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. On Thursday the Peace and, finally, Economy is announced, which will be announced on Monday of next week.

You can follow MATTER in Facebook twitter e Instagram , or sign up here to receive our weekly newsletter .

Back to top button